Wood and Pellet Stoves



Woodstoves have been regulated by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) since 1988. The EPA's updates in February 2015 were the first in over two decades and greatly needed to reflect today's modern wood heating technology. 

  • As of July 2018, only 91 out of 572 wood and pellet stoves are certified to meet Step 2 of the regulations, which will come into effect May 15, 2020.
  • All stoves manufactured and sold today are EPA-certified, meeting or exceeding the Step 1 requirements that came into effect May 15, 2015.

View the list of EPA-certified wood and pellet stoves

Pellet Stoves

Pellet stovePellet stoves first received required federal regulations with the updates in 2015. These stoves use pellet fuel, which is compressed sawdust or other biomass fuel. The U.S.-based Pellet Fuels Institute (PFI) runs a certification program to ensure a high level of quality for pellet fuels testing using the PFI standard. 

  • Like woodstoves, all pellet stoves that met the EPA's 2015 emissions number before 2015 must be retested to the new 2020 standards. 



EPA-qualified fireplace


Fireplaces don't have mandatory emissions requirements, but some manufacturers choose to invest in "EPA-qualification." 


Learn more about the EPA-qualified fireplace program


EPA-certified fireplace woodstoveSome manufacturers test their fireplace using the woodstove test method, certifying it as a woodstove. 




Members of the Hearth, Patio & Barbecue Association (HPBA) and its regional Affiliates are the leading companies that produce, sell, or service appliances and accessories in the hearth and barbecue industries in North America. Join today to take advantage of all the benefits your company will receive.

Learn How ›